St. Anthony’s was originally built as a house of studies for the Capuchins, from 1917 to 1923. Used initially to teach Philosophy and Theology, in 1953 the building became a house of study for friars pursuing priestly ordination. However with a decrease in religious vocations, the building we eventually closed.
Seeking another use for the building, it was re-opened in 1971 as a retreat center. Since that time, St. Anthony’s offers spiritual guidance and a prayerful space for the northern Wisconsin area. A collaborative effort between friars and lay volunteers, the rich history of this place is accentuated by the involvement of the community who have grown close to the Capuchins over these many years.
St. Anthony Retreat Center
300 East 4th Street
Marathon, WI 54448